Stop Returning Memories

When a relationship ends, the memories still tag along with you even if the person doesn’t.

I remember speaking to someone who stopped listening to songs that their ex sung. They burnt letters given by old friends. They even tried to return mementos given by people who weren’t close to them anymore.

I see that as some form of catharsis. Maybe giving away those objects or removing them served to help the person move on. But it also made me feel like all those memories were being swept away too.

I don’t like it when people return things that I’ve made for them. I hate it when they seem to move on from the memory. It makes me feel like what happened was all meaningless. Just a blip on a long journey.

I won’t return anything. These mementos are mine; my memories. Even if they sour I will still hold on.


Photo credit: Kelly Sikkema (unsplash)

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close